Sunday, October 16, 2016

CD Review - Mist of Misery- "Absence"


Mist of Misery – Absence

Favorite songs: Melancholic Thoughts, Epitaph of Penitence

* Mortuz-Denatus - Vocals, Lyrics, Drums (studio), Programming, Mixing & Mastering
* Phlegathon - Guitars, Bass, Lyrics
* Livsnekaren - Drums (Live)

 CD Review:

This band from Stockholm, Sweden describe their music as Symphonic Metal/Despressive Metal/and Black Metal.  And, rightly so.  All of the above describe the massive sound that is Mist of Misery. 

This album begins with an aptly titled track called Melancholic Thoughts… Flowing deeper into the psyche with relaxing strings and beautifully calming melodies…..right into the second track, Euthanasia.  And then WHAM! The most glorious symphonic metal hits the ears like a tidal wave.   

When it comes to Black Metal, Absence is not what I usually expect.  The brooding nature of the majority of the music is so calming that I tend to forget that I am actually listening to Black Metal.  The emotions that this music stirs inside me are some that I rarely feel.  People who know me know that I do not usually go out of my way for music such as Mist of Misery, however, I will state that this band, this album has given me an opportunity to change my outlook on Black Symphonic Depressive metal.   

I would recommend this album to anyone who enjoys metal, rock, those raspy cookie monster vocals I constantly talk about or anyone who enjoys songs that inspire and encourage great feeling.  So, basically, I would recommend “Absence” to everyone.  You won’t be sorry.

Friday, September 23, 2016

CD Review - Interstelar - "Resin"

Interstelar - "Resin" as reviewed on September 14th, 2016.

As far as the band's bio is concerned, I humbly refer you to their Facebook Page found here.

The Review: 

Favorite songs: High Horse, Opposite Daze

The guys of Interstelar refer to their music as "shoegazy", "doomy", "sludgey" and other various adjectives.  I describe their music as hard rock with gentler tendencies.  This album is a collection of nearly every emotion that one could put into rock music without losing their status as awesome.  "Resin" is a continuous groove of excellence that I haven't heard in a while.  The syncopated rhythms in the melody in Opposite Daze, gives "Resin" a particularly unique quality to its overall sound. 

In a world where today's hard rock sounds like it was created by cookie cutter corporate heels that only appeal to the sheep who will listen, Interstelar is breaking that mold to do something better than the norm.  I expect great things from this band who has already proven that they can compete with those who have been around for a while.

If you haven't done so, go and grab this album, right now.  Sit in a quiet room and absorb the energy that is "Resin" 

On Erosion Factory I gave this album 4.5 out of 5 stars.  I should be shot.  5 stars!

CD Review - LoboLoto "Even the Stones Fall"

It is with great pleasure that I present to you my CD review of "Even the Stones Fall" by LoboLoto.

Band bio: 
 Where is the band from?
LoboLoto is from Ferrara, a city near Bologna (Italy).

Who are the band members?
I'm the only band member. My name is Alice Lobo and I composed and wrote (music and lyrics) every single track of LoboLoto.  For live gigs, I'm accompanied by other two musicians whose names are Matteo mangherini (guitars) and Edoardo Cavallari (drums).

How long has the band been together?
From June, 2016.

Did any members of the band work in other musical projects before this?
Yes. Matteo has a duo called 'Duo Orchestra' and Edoardo a duo called "Endless Mind' (The are both amazing!)
As for me, I played in a lot of music projects, but the most important that brought me to my sound was the last, named "The Maimers'. It was an electronic duo from me at Lyrics and melody and Alberto Nemo, who wrote the music.
One of the songs that we wrote together, 'Can You Save me?" (I was particularly close ot that) is included in the new album 'Even the Stones Fall'.

Where was the album made?
The album 'Even the Stones Fall' was made in my home studio. Then, to record the guitars, the mixing ad the master, I leaned againt the Animal house Studio of Federico Viola.  In some songs, like ' Farewell', 'Please Me', 'Can You Save Me?' and 'Se-Me' the guitars were played by Mattia Cenacchi e Matteo Maragno.  You can listen to the drums of Italo Graziana in the song "Please Me' and to the piano of Friedrich Cane in 'Farewell' and 'Anna'.

Who produced the album?
The album was entirely written and composed by me.

Who does the songwriting?
I do the songwriting except for 'Anna', that's a cover song of Lucio Battisti, and Italian musician of the '60s-'70s and for 'Tacheles', wrote together with Artan Rroku.

Who are your musical influences?
It's really difficult for me to answer because I think that music is born from the experiences and emotions of who produce it, which are later mixed with those of the listener, but I don't believe that the music of some artist can influence the writing and composing of another's.  However, I don't listen to much music, and I think that the one that listen is completely different by mine, like Jeff Buckley, Nick Drake, David Bowie, Antony and the Johnsons, Pink Floyd, Brian Eno...I also listen to a lot of classical music, like Franz Liszt, Frederich Chopin, Johann Sebastian Bach, Sergei Rachmaninoff and many others.

What was the message or goal of this album?
I think that music is the most important thing. I think that is the origin of all things. In the recent years, the man has turned away from listening to the music, thus losing the sense of humanity, empathy, that serves to give a meaning to life and to everything that we do. My goal is, in my small way, to rekindle the hidden emotions, those of which we no longer speak, that lie to the sense of shame and fear, leading to the historical period we are living...

Do you plan on touring to promote this album?
Yes!
In Italy is increasingly difficult ot find events and pubs or clubs that are available to 'risk' with emerging artists, but never give up is one of my mottos, and I hope this could be the beginning of a lot of gigs to promote my album 'Even the Stones Fall'.

What are your goals for the future?
A lot of live gigs and...A second album.

Where can people buy your music?
Here you ca find my music or put a 'like' to my socials:
FACEBOOK: www.facebook.com/alicelobomusic
YOUTUBE: www.youtube.com/channel/UC3GKDM6aUPL2TZPrzsSq9iQ
BANDCAMP: https://loboloto.bandcamp.com
SOUNDCLOUD: https://soundcloud.com/alice-lobo-4



The Review: 

  Sultry, sexy voice of Alice Lobo.  This fabulous artist is from Ferrera, Italy.  She describes her music mostly as experimental, but I consider it a little bit of most genres, but mostly darkwave.  There are beautiful melodies of piano and other synths that create some of the most eerie and beautifully tailored atmospheres that I have heard in a while.  This is an album worthy of any music collector.  Oh, and I hope that you have brushed up on your Italian before listening to the song Anna.  "Even the Stones Fall" is a reviving breath of fresh air that will enlighten the soul and give the listener reason to ponder. 
This album has it all!

This is definitely an album that is best listened to in a dark room or while pondering the meaning of life.  It is the perfect blend of darkness and light......

Wednesday, August 17, 2016

Artist Spotlight (August 10th, 2016) - FREELITE

Chosen with care, this week's Artist Spotlight:

Freelite

https://www.facebook.com/Freeliteband/


Seriously, though. Not much is known about this amazing rock band from Belarus.  You'll just have to check them out for yourselves. Click on their picture to go to their Facebook page!

Wednesday, August 3, 2016

Artist Spotlight (August, 3rd, 2016) CHAOS DELIVERY MACHINE

Proudly bringing you this week's Spotlight Artist: 

Chaos Delivery Machine

Bio:
This Hermosa Beach, CA based trio has released an album that has taken an exhausting and life-threatening journey of over 8 years to complete. Created by former 98 Mute band mates Jason Page (guitarist/music) and Justin Thirsk (throat/drummer/ words), whose older brother, Jason Thirsk (R.I.P.), was the founding member and former lyricist/bassist of Pennywise. The lineup is rounded out by Pennywise co-founder and guitarist Fletcher Dragge (co-throat/bass/producer.)

If you love punk rock, you're going to love Chaos Delivery Machine. They are amazing!

CD Review - (August 3rd, 2016) Blue Helix - A Tale of Two Halves


Blue Helix

Bio:
Blue Helix is a musical quartet on the cutting edge of modern rock with a uniquely potent blend of the core genre and its many sub-genres. Following in the hallowed footsteps of instrumental pioneers from Threshold to Led Zeppelin, their energy derives from the steel-on-steel sparks where rock fights itself for raw dominance - technique locked tooth-in-claw with a fierce need to be apart from the establishment, partly for its own sake and partly to stay just as righteous as it always wanted to be. Yet in the fight to stand out, there is also a struggle to learn and to be understood. In the indomitable spirit of strength that embodies rock, Washington's Blue Helix stand against the darkness and for something much greater. Thriving on the energies and individual personalities of each member, Blue Helix reigns as a tribute both to its members's lives and to their vision. 

CD Review: 

Favorites Songs: Escape, Bullets


A Tale of two Halves is exactly what hard rock should sound like.  Don’t get me wrong, this album has plenty of tender moments that may bring a tear to a cold heart’s eye. 

Lyrics on A Tale of Two Hearts are thought-provoking, passionate and beautifully written.  There seems to be an ongoing theme of unreciprocated love.  I think we’ve all been there at one point or another.  These songs are sung with so much heartfelt emotion that it is difficult not to give this album one’s full attention…many times….
Each track brings its own individual tone an quality that brings the album together full circle. If you have not had the chance to listen to this album yet, visit their Soundcloud page, or better yet, buy their album wherever it is sold, such as iTunes, CDbaby or Reverbnation. You won't be sorry you did.

Monday, July 25, 2016

CD Review (July 17th, 2016) - THE SWEETEST CONDITION - 'EDGE OF THE WORLD"


Ordinarily, I save my CD reviews for Erosion Factory Radio Show, however, due to the two week hiatus I decided that it would be a wonderful idea to do a CD review for my other show A Walk on the Dark Side.  So here it is in all its glory:

The Sweetest Condition:


BIO:
(As lovingly borrowed from their Facebook Page):

https://www.facebook.com/thesweetestcondition/
THE SWEETEST CONDITION is an industrial + synthpop + darkwave band, featuring Jason Reed Milner (music + synths) and Leslie ...I. Benson (lyrics + vocals), which blends iconic sounds of the ’80s, industrial muscle of the ’90s, and cinematic soundscapes. The band derives inspiration from Depeche Mode, Nine Inch Nails, The Birthday Massacre and others.

After releasing their five-song EP, “Truth & Light,” in April 2013, the female-fronted duo moved from Indianapolis, Ind., to Nashville, Tenn., where they teamed up with producer and sound engineer Joel Lauver of Burning Bridge Recordings to produce their debut full-length album, “Edge of the World,” which was released on Aug. 28, 2015. A second album, currently in the works, is set for release in 2016.

DISCOGRAPHY:
- New Album: For Release in 2016!
- "Edge of the World" Debut Album: Released on Aug. 28, 2015.
- "Truth & Light" EP: Released April 30, 2013.

CD Review: EDGE OF THE WORLD
Favorite songs: Miles Away, Now, Control

After having discovered this album several months ago, it is one that I have not got a week without playing in its entirety at least three times a week.  It's dark, it's edgy, it's got a darker pop vibe that cannot be ignored.  And, with influences such as Depeche Mode, Nine Inch Nails, Portishead and The Cure among others, it is hard to deny the excellence that is Edge of the World

Leslie brings a passion to the songs with a voice that is as sultry as it is commanding. Topics of every song on the album are easily identifiable with experiences in my own personal life.  Especially Miles Away.  I think we've all known someone like that.

Let's not forget Jason's incredible way of bringing the music to life with his use of synths.  Together they bring a blend of imaginative songs that are simply outstanding.

Edge of the World brings a mountain of danceable songs that will kill on any dance floor.  Who can resist the upbeat rhythms, stompy basslines or melodies that take you away to another world? Not this girl!  It's an amazing collection of songs that are gripping from beginning to end.

In short, Edge of the World is worthy of any goth/synthpop/industrial collection.  Check them out on Facebook by clicking on their picture above!

Saturday, July 9, 2016

Spotlight Artist (July 6th, 2016) MOUCE

After pondering for a span of minutes, I bring you Erosion Factory's featured artist:

Mouce

https://www.facebook.com/Mouce-195762787105517/

Stealthily borrowed from their Facebook page:

There are those among us who grind to make their dreams of being an artist a reality. With that being said,, I introduce you to one of those people - Mouce aka Mouce Trap.

This Orlando native began selling homemade cds and tapes made on a karaoke machine in high school. Shortly after, Mouce started his own record company Low-G Records.


To see my review of their CD "Black Tiger" click here.

Thursday, June 30, 2016

CD Review - Oira 317 - "Torment of Wingless Angel"

"Torment of Wingless Angel" by Oira 317 as reviewed on June 15th, 2016.




Artist Bio:

Where is the band from?
-The band is from very south of Poland, evey member of our group 317utc is from here (we are little 'secret society', so we prefer to not show our real names and city yet), people who helped me develop Oira 317 or Zrodzony - Matsumarii, V.
Who are the band members?
-Currently the band members are Oira Threeoneseven (at the beginning known as Michail Janovich) - me, and V. who works with me on production and samples. 
How long has the band been together?
-The band exists since march of 2014, after Zrodzony's pause in activity. And of course exist now too. 
Did any members of the band work in other musical projects before this?
-I worked in Zrodzony before i started Oira 317. 
Are any of the members of the band currently in any side projects?
-Yes, I am working again in Zrodzony, and both with V. we are part of The Red Union project.
Where was the album made?
-Album was made in our 'little home studio' - so we can just say that our music is homemade.
Who produced the album?
-Album was produced by me (Oira) and V. But also - all the people who helped us sound better - we asked our friends about quite lot of things, for example - volume of vocals. I want to say 'thank you' to them all. 
Who does the songwriting?
-All songs are written by Oira 317.
Who are your musical influences?
-Musical influences are mainly Blam Honey, 2Bullet, Skinny Puppy, Gackt, Schwarz Stein, last time I feel I am a lot inspired by Stillborn Diz. But also we have been inspired by Stabbing Westward, Black Tower and Moderl Talking! 
What was the message or goal of this album?
-We wanted so make a physical album with best (IMO) songs from our albums from past - it was sealing of past and beginning od new era of project (I hope). It contains also unreleased yet songs! At most songs are very symbolical - politics + emotions + philosophy in a Fairy Tale convention.
Do you plan on touring to promote this album?
-We never played live yet and probably in close future we will not.
What are your goals for the future?
-We want to get more fans and people who will show us love, also as part of Elektro Villain group we want to promote this label/compilations and promote great artists connected to it. We want to develope and bring to people some good music and souvenirs. Make new friends and - in future - start to play live.
Where can people buy your music?
People can find our music (digital and physical in very attractive price) on our bandcamp:  317utcrecords.bandcamp.com  - or contact us directly on facebook or on oira.electro@gmail.com

CD Review:


Favorite songs: Delusional Fermentality, Beloved Mother
When it comes to industrial music, most people think of Germany.  However, that is not always the case as Oira317 proves.  Hailing from Poland, this amazing artist breaks the stereotype and brings us Torment of Wingless Angel.  But, if you're looking for a soft, delicate flower go find a rose garden.
This albums features all that one would expect from a heavy hitting industrial piece.  Eerie synths melodies, low growly vocals and heavy, distorted drumlines, which in themselves gives this album its own unique flavor. Like those found in Beloved Mother and Delusional Fermentality. Perfect blends of everything that is great about industrial music. Great feeling can be heard in Wingless Angel.  It's one of the tracks that I play repeatedly throughout the day. 
I enjoyed Torment of Wingless Angel very much and keep Oira 317 in a constant rotation on SoundCloud.  I definitely recommend this album to anyone who enjoys the likes of Skinny Puppy, Combichrist etc... 

Wednesday, June 29, 2016

Spotlight Artist (June 29th, 2016) ZEN ROBBI

Chosen with a loving heart, I give you this week's Spotlight Artist:

Zen Robbi

From Los Angeles, CA emerges the nastiest power trio rock and roll has seen since the dawn of the millennium. For nearly 8 years now, the titanic trio have been terrorizing audiences across America with their rambunctious funk and ridiculous good looks. Led by the notorious pirate Captain Mic Dangerously, Scott Wittenberg and Timmy "Too Tall" Baker are the back bone to a beast of a band that is on the road to musical superstardom. Fusing rock, soul, swing, jazz and funk these boys can play, and they mean business.


From Los Angeles, CA emerges the nastiest power trio rock and roll has seen sin...ce the dawn of the millennium. For nearly 8 years now, the titanic trio have been terrorizing audiences across America with their rambunctious funk and ridiculous good looks. Led by the notorious pirate Captain Mic Dangerously, Scott Wittenberg and Timmy "Too Tall" Baker are the back bone to a beast of a band that is on the road to musical superstardom. Fusing rock, soul, swing, jazz and funk these boys can play, and they mean business.

Go ahead and give them a like an a listen.  Next time they play, be sure to go out and support their show!

Monday, June 27, 2016

CD Review - PreCog - "Are We Lost"

This week's CD review comes to us from one of my favorite new bands:

PreCog


Artist Bio:
Where is the band from?
The band is based out of Nashville, TN. However I (Jason) live in Louisville, KY.  Both Gerald and Raevynn live in Nashville. 
Who are the band members?
The band originally started with Just Gerald and I. We recently started gearing up for live shows and after running through a few practice sets we felt like something was missing. So we started looking for a third. Raevynn tried out two weeks ago and both Gerald and I were blown away. She brings a ton to our music, great harmonies & live strings.
So now PreCog has gone from a Duo to Trio.
Jason Thomas- Vocals/synth/Composer
Gerald Josef- Piano/synth/Composer/Programmer
Raevynn Nicole-Piano/Synth/Violin/Vocals
How long has the band been together?
Gerald and I started PreCog late December 2015. We finished our first album mid-February 2016.  Overall we have been playing together for little over six months. 
Did any members of the band work in other musical projects before this?
I have had a few projects. The most recent being my wife and I’s group Citadel. We recorded several songs together. A few originals and several covers, and it’s actually because of citadel that Gerald messaged me to work together in the first place. Some songs from this project have been adapted for PreCog, and we kept the lovely vocals of my wife Diana Thomas in the tracks as harmonies. You can hear tracks from Citadel here.
https://soundcloud.com/the_citadel
Gerald has been in TONS of music projects.  Gerald's music career began in Detroit in 1985 when he formed his first synth/pop band, Line Society. Gerald worked for Prince with George Clinton on songs for the movie, Graffiti Bridge, in 1989. A year later, Gerald toured Berlin playing with many of his synth heroes. In the early 1990's, Gerald formed Clockhouse and signed to the German label, Crilex. Additionally, he co-authored four No.1 Christian songs with Code of Ethics. In 2013, Gerald co-wrote and produced a five-song EP with Austin Gibbs, entitled With Butter (available on iTunes). In 2014, he formed Turncoat Taylor & Sound Agency, Both 80's synth/pop band.  You can hear several of his tracks from various projects here
Raevynn has worked on solo projects in the past as well as a combination of originals and covers. Raevynn has also played piano and violin for a few other group projects, most notably for indie artist T.F. Pauly
Are any of the members of the band currently in any side projects?
Both Raevynn & I have currently dropped all other group projects to focus on PreCog. However Gerald still writes and records for Sound Agency and Clockhouse. 
Where was the album made?
The album was made in two different Locations, My home Studio where I recorded all the vocals and composed several tracks, As well as Gerald’s Home Studio where he did the same. All the mixing and Mastering was done by Gerald though. He has a gift for making everything sound perfect. 
 Who produced the album?
Gerald and I took care of everything ourselves. 
Who does the songwriting?
It’s a huge mix of us both. Usually I will start on a song and send it over to him to write on and Vice Versa. This allows us to give a general direction of where we want the song to go & the overall feel. Then we usually just let one another run free and see what we can come up with. I have never had a song come back from Gerald that I disliked. We both think so much alike musically that everything seems to always fall into place. 
Who are your musical influences?
I am heavily influenced vocally by groups like Active Child, Aqualung, & Dan Black. The way they bend their notes and also their falsetto sound has always been a huge inspiration for me. Musically I take a lot away from groups like Massive Attack, Little Dragon, Gorillaz, & Depeche Mode.
Gerald is heavily influenced musically by groups such as Depeche Mode, Tori Amos, Peter Gabriel, & Kate Bush. Bringing several aspects from each group out in his composing and playing styles. 
What was the message or goal of this album?
Are we lost is based on personal struggles, whether my own personal problems, or those of others I heard about in one way or another. It’s the journey of facing your inner demons and pushing yourself above, because in some way all of us are lost, but we aren’t lost forever. We always find our way.
For instance, Broken sun is a song about (after a short period of me being the worst person in the world) I began looking back on the relationships it destroyed and the people I hurt, and it felt as if I had destroyed my entire universe. Then making the journey of seeking forgiveness from those I hurt.
Whereas Little Devil is about our inability to make decisions for ourselves that are positive. We are constantly hearing ways that we can improve our life; & grow to be a better person. Yet the more you look at the world, the more you see that we are happily sprinting so far in the other direction. Even though we know it’s going to kill us, we bend, break, and beat our bodies till there is nothing left and once the damage is done we look back and think “Well crap..why did I do any of that?”
Each song tells its own story of internal struggles. 
Do you plan on touring to promote this album?
I think we are interested in possibly a small tour. However Gerald and I both have families to take care of. They have & always will come first.  So we are currently looking at options for touring, but making sure to keep it reasonable so we can also keep up with our familial obligations. 
What are your goals for the future?
We are currently looking at signing with a European label to further promote our music overseas. We do feel like our music would do better over there just seeing to how our style of music is a little more widely accepted. However we do see the beginnings of a movement bringing back genres such as synthpop/synthwave/darkwave/dark electronica, & we would love to be part of that movement!
Where can people buy your music?
They can stop by our band camp https://precog.bandcamp.com and grab our 14 track debut album Are We Lost for 8 dollars. We have had quite a response on there & its been a little overwhelming. Even though its not much both Gerald and I never expected to make more than $0.00 with our music. We want to thank all those whom supported our music these past few months. Also we would like to personally thank you both Onyx & Raven. We truly appreciate the support you have shown us! 

CD Review:

Favorite Songs: Monster, Little Fragments
Usually, when I review a CD for Erosion Factory (on air) I have a long (or sometimes short) piece written out ahead of time because I have trouble at times finding the words I wish to convey about the album I am reviewing.  This did not happen with PreCog's "Are We Lost".  I have listened to this wonderful debut album everyday for two months at least.  Yes, it is THAT amazing!
One need only listen to the combination of synths, melodies and harmonies, to know that Depeche Mode is a huge influence for this group.  Now, some people might not wish to be compared to other artists, but there are times when it just cannot be helped.  Now, this is not to say that PreCog is not completely individualistic.  They truly bring a unique flavor to a genre of music that spans well over three decades. Their perspective on the ongoing theme that we are all monsters on the inside at some point.  It is something that really hits me close to home.
For those that are looking for something a bit more dancey, they will be pleasantly surprised. I would recommend "Dig In" and for those looking for something introspective, "Filthy Pig" and "Monster" are just what the doctor ordered. 
As previously mentioned, the harmonies on every song are brilliantly executed and some of the most beautiful I have heard in a while.  It is almost difficult to believe that these come from Jason, as I have heard is speaking voice and I am pleasantly surprised by the beauty that pours forth from his soul. 
I am very excited to see what Raevynn brings to the PreCog table in their next album.  In my opinion it can only help to enhance what Gerald and Jason have already done and in such a minimal amount of time.  It is quite difficult to believe that they have only been around since December of 2015
I cannot say enough wonderful things about "Are We Lost".  You will just have to do yourselves a favor and check them out on your own.  I know that they have a few shows coming up. If you are in the Nashville area, go out and support them!  I know I would if I could!


Sunday, June 26, 2016

Spotlight Artist (June 22nd, 2016) WRATHS

We threw a dart at the board o' doom and picked this week's featured artist:

Wraths



Borrowed from their Facebook page:

Call it what you want: Primal scream therapy imprisoned on wax! Aural rebellion in WAV form! Now for your convenience Wraths’ new self-titled debut album can be spun on your turntable or downloaded directly to the safe and sterile home record store you call a computer. Free from incense, strangers and drummer wanted ads! We’d love to tell you what we think Wraths sounds like but what good would that do? In the end it’s up to you, the listener, to decipher and judge…and you will judge.

Check them out on Facebook!







Spotlight Artist (June 15th, 2016) SINICLE

Picked as though a chorus of angels has whispered it into my ear....this week's featured artist:

Sinicle


Lovingly stolen from their Facebook page:

Sinicle formed in a small, sweaty basement in Reno, NV by three music hungry teens. They rapidly grew their fan base by throwing basement shows and releasing CDs. They relocated to Hollywood, CA to attend Musicians Institute and further develop their scene ping ponging between California and Nevada. Playing stages such as The Oakland Metro, Reno Knitting Factory and gaining residecny at the historic Rainbow Bar on The Sunset Strip. Sinicle stays true to the "Sinicle Family" and believes in a DIY, hard work ethic with a community mentality.

If you have not yet had the chance to listen to this most wonderful band, then please do so. You won't regret it!

Thursday, June 9, 2016

Spotlight Artist (June 8th, 2016) GREG GOLDEN BAND

After closing our eyes and pointing our finger to an artist, we bring you this week's Spotlight Artist:

The Greg Golden Band
https://www.facebook.com/TheGregGoldenBand/timeline


The Greg Golden Band is a classic rock band composed of 6 members... They are all pros and have many years of experience to...uring and playing...Greg Golden lead guitar/vocals. Owner and founder of Bizarre Guitar Reno. The band has two lead singers (Randy Scoles and Paul Holdgate), Steve Brown on drums and Larry Hart on bass. All four of these members have played with the Late Ronnie Montrose. Also Jeff Montgomery on guitar/vocals.

Seriously, if you enjoy good old fashioned rock n' roll and blues rock, you'll love this band!


Wednesday, June 1, 2016

Spotlight Artist (June 1st, 2016) ART OF DYING

Chosen because the stars aligned themselves in just the right fashion:

This week's Spotlight Artist:

Art of Dying

https://www.facebook.com/artofdying/timeline



All we know about this mysterious band from Vancouver, Canada are their names:

Jonny Hetherington (Vocals)

Tavis Stanley (Guitar)

Cale Gontier (Bass)

Cody Watkins (Drums)

And, that their music rocks!

Check them out on Facebook.  Click on the above picture!

CD Review - april.exe "Collective Mass Ritual"


CD Review:  Collective Mass Ritual

Band Bio:
           Where is the band from?
I started in telluride colorado but have produced different releases from ashland oregon, chico california and joshua tree california. Currently in fort collins Colorado.
Who are the band members? myself, i am sean.
How long has the band been together? i started in 2005.
Did any members of the band work in other musical projects before this? no.
Are any of the members of the band currently in any side projects? No.
Where was the album made? fort collins Colorado.
 Who produced the album? me.
Who does the songwriting? me.
Who are your musical influences? lords of acid, thrill kill cult, crass, alien sex fiend, velvet acid christ, skinny puppy, front 242, god lie, joey beltram
What was the message or goal of this album? collective mass ritual is political anarchist.
Do you plan on touring to promote this album? no.
What are your goals for the future? more hardware synthesizers!
Where can people buy your music? http://www.cdbaby.com/Artist/Aprilexe
What equipment do you use ? Yamaha dx7, korg prophecy, logic pro x, native instruments massive/fm8/reaktor, psp xenon, digidesign turbosynth, waves kramer master tape/ssl 4000/api collection
CD REVIEW:

Collective Mass Ritual is 17 tracks of knock-you-either-on-your-ass-or-get-you-on-a-dance-floor excellence that cannot be matched, except perhaps on previous releases. Collective Mass ritual follows pretty much the same style as the rest of the works.  There are no vocals, per se. What few actual lyrics that can be heard are in the background.  Mostly you’ll be met with samples from varying sources.  Movies, newsfeeds and more.  Most notably, from Devil’s Advocate. 

As far as recommendation goes.  That’s gotta be a trick question.  Of course I highly recommend this album to everyone who enjoys industrial music and even to those who don’t.  The majority of these tracks would garner great favor in clubs everywhere if only the DJs would play them.  Most notably Conflict Generator, All One, and Three Days of Darkness. 
Collective Mass Ritual is a must-have for anyone who has an extensive collection of electro-industrial music.  If you have never heard music of this kind, then you are in for an excellent treat. Trust me.  You can't go wrong with this one!

Wednesday, May 25, 2016

Spotlight Artist (May 25th, 2016) ALPHABET CULT

Chosen by using a hundred-sided die:

Alphabet Cult
https://www.facebook.com/Alphabet-Cult-524838580880841/timeline


Alphabet Cult is a Reno, Nv noise/stoner/artrock concoction of oldies who have been in many, many bands. They run the Intruder Alert! label. Releases here:http://dsix.bandcamp.com and https://soundcloud.com/alphabet-cult
You guys don't really look as old as you make yourself out to sound on your page.. lol.. By the way, your music absolutely rocks!

Wednesday, May 18, 2016

Spotlight Artist (May 18th, 2016) Herbicidal Maniacs

Picked after rolling a 23-sided die.... (what, you don't believe me?)

Herbicidal Maniacs

https://www.facebook.com/Herbicidal-Maniacs-584275888338800/timeline?ref=page_internal&qsefr=1



Shamelessly borrowed from their Facebook page:
The HERBICIDAL MANIACS are 5 longtime Vancouver Island musicians who are passionate about making their music. On their own they bring years of professional experience coupled with amazing talent. Collectively, they have come together to create a very unique sound, a genre they have dubbed "Westcoast Folk/Rock". Come and join them for an evening of All Originals...listen to their creative melodies and lyrics and Feel the Power of their own "Westcoast Sound"
Take a listen. You won't regret it!

CD Review - Broomfiller "Third Stage Propellor Index"

Broomfiller - "Third Stage Propellor Index" (As reviewed on May 18th, 2016)

Band Bio:


Where is the band from?
TORONTO, ONTARIO, CANADA
Who are the band members?
Broomfiller has always been my passion project, and have had a series of live band members over the years who would help me play live shows and tours.   Current members who have been with me for quite some time are Terry on Bass and Valerie on Keys / synth.   
How long has the band been together?
The band has been around since 2002.
Where was the album made?
It was recorded in at Skylark Park Studios in Pembroke, Ontario, Canada
 Who produced the album?
Jordon zadorozny and myself (Richard D. Leko)
Who does the songwriting?
I write all the music and lyrics for BROOMFILLER
Who are your musical influences?
Dave Grohl is a musical force that has inspired me from jumping out behind the drum kit and fronting my own band.    Other bands that I’m really into are: millencolin, bad religion, husker du, jawboxx, foo fighters, Face to Face & Bracket.
What was the message or goal of this album?
The last full length album BROOMFILLER released was in 2006 (Enter the Storm).   I had lost the drive to put out more music, and other things in life took priority.     A demo cd in 2009 was unofficially put out, but nothing that really counted as an official release.    In 2014, I lost both of my parents (Dad in January & Mom in December).    Shortly after losing my Dad, my perception of everything changed, and it was a much needed kick in the ass for me to get back up on the horse and record new music.     The songs specifically chosen on this album were songs that both of my parents would have heard (in one form or another) when I was back home at my parents house, in the basement jamming on my guitar and amp there.   I actually finished many songs there, and some of these songs were actually about them, and what they were going through, and what our family went through as a result.
Third stage Propellor Index is a tribute to my parents, and to me, my most powerful and emotional work to date.   I booked a week up with Jordon, and played all the instruments on the album, with Jordon engineering and co-producing with me.   It’s very bitter sweet, but so far the new album has been receiving a lot of positive feedback, which I’m very grateful for.
Do you plan on touring to promote this album?
Yes, we toured Western Canada in Sept / Oct and will be touring Eastern Canada in July / August 2016, with many more shows to come.
What are your goals for the future?
Play as many shows / tours as possible to promote this album.
Where can people buy your music?
"Third Stage Propellor Index" available on iTunes 


Also available at cdbaby.com: 


As well as from our own online store:   http://www.broomfiller.com/store/

CD Review:

Broomfiller “Third Stage Propellor Index”


Favorite songs: Milly, How Long, So Long
I have to be honest. I was a bit skeptical when I first placed this album onto my mp3 player.  What was I going to hear? More emo rock from today’s latest quintet attempting to break out into the music scene today? Well, I was pleasantly surprised and highly entertained by the music that flowed through my ears this week.  Broomfiller has given me new hope for rock music in today’s world. 
If you are looking for music to uplift your mood, then you’ve found your album.  There’s enough variety on Third Stage Propellor to keep listeners intrigued and interested during the whole album.  Harmonies blend in amazing fashion, especially on Figure It Out Quickly.  I’d also give High School Reunion a listen or two.  It’s exactly how I feel about ever going to a high school reunion.  Which would be never.. lol..
Overall, I give this album a high recommendation.  Most of the songs are under four minutes in length, but don’t let that stop you.  Each song packs enough depth and amazing melodies and riffs and beats for songs twice their length.  Third Stage Propellor Index is available for purchase on iTunes and yes, I recommend doing so now.
Definitely check this amazing band/artist out!  you won't regret it!



Thursday, May 12, 2016

Spotlight Artist (May 11th, 2016) ENTT

The Spotlight Artist for May 11th:

ENTT
https://www.facebook.com/enttlive/timeline

Lovingly borrowed from their Facebook page:

An Entity is something that exists. It doesn’t have to be materialistic; it can be as simple as a concept that is acknowledg...ed by people.

ENTT are a Live EDM Duo from the UK. Formed in 2013, the two band members have been producing music and playing live instruments from a young age, they have gained skills and experience from other projects they have both pursued on, to create the refined band that is ENTT.

Their aim is to fill a gap in the market, where Electronic Dance Music and Live Performances do not currently meet ends. ENTT want to bring together the energy and enthusiasm from Dance Music festivals and the attention and atmosphere created by live performances. It is becoming more popular for electronic acts to play live and ENTT see this as the way forward in the industry.

The duo, Kaan Kara and Jordan Hearts, have known each other since starting secondary school together. Both wanted to make a venture into the music industry by bringing people the joy of Electronic Music, later wanting to show people what atmosphere could be created from live performances.
An excellent artist that you should definitely listen to today!

Wednesday, May 4, 2016

Artist Spotlight (May 4th, 2016) THE COLOR LOUD

This week's Spotlight Artist:

The Color Loud

https://www.facebook.com/TheColorLoud/timeline


Stealthily taken from their Facebook page:


Who are we?!?! We are two musicians from Michigan who came together and formed a group in order to create a fresh new sound.... Presently we just finished our debut album "That Loud Shit" In the future we plan to stay focused on our goals by making the best music possible, with the hopes of changing the current sound of popular music. We are.. The Color Loud!!

Check them out.  You won't be sorry.

Friday, April 29, 2016

Artist Spotlight (April 27th, 2016) FOREVER STILL

With ferocious enthusiasm I am proud to bring you this week's Spotlight Artist:

Forever Still
https://www.facebook.com/Foreverstill/timeline


Maja Shining, Mikkel Haastrup, Maja Partsch and Dennis Stockmarr make up Forever Still, the female fronted rock back from Copenhgen, Denmark.  I have to say that I haven’t heard a voice in rock music this beautiful since Amy Lee and Evanescence.  Forever Still are a completely honest and emotional in-your-face heavy rock band with no excuses. The band's wide array of brooding beats, atmospheric electronic textures, and stocky guitar riffs, all compliment vocal powerhouse Maja Shining's emotionally revealing lyrics, which range from soft lullaby tones to scathing and aggressive full throttle screams. 
You've got to check them out on their Facebook page.  They are simply amazing!

CD Review - Murderock "Splatter Generation"

Murderock - Splatter Generation (As reviewed on April 27th, 2016)


Band Bio:


Where is the band from?
Devil’s Lick, NV
Who are the band members?
The Ferox clan consists of Franky Ferox (guitar), Paulie Ferox (bass), Zachie Ferox (drums), Freddie Ferox (vocals), Sammy Ferox (screams), Edie “Momma” Ferox (moral support)
How long has the band been together?
Days, years, decades, eons…time is irrelevant. 
Did any members of the band work in other musical projects before this?
No.
Are any of the members of the band currently in any side projects?
Does necrophilia count as a “side project?” 
Where was the album made?
At a place called Dog Water studios.
Who produced the album?
Rick Spagnola and the Ferox clan…he did such a nice job we even let him live.
Who does the songwriting?
God…transcribed by Freddie.
Who are your musical influences?
The screams of the innocent, painful moans and wailing, metal blades cutting bone…typical stuff.
What was the message or goal of this album?
Violence is fun for the whole family.
Do you plan on touring to promote this album?
We go where we want to go and when we want to. 
What are your goals for the future?
Global domination.
Where can people buy your music?
Murderock.net/store

CD Review:


Favorite songs: Cut You to Pieces, Dead Girls are Easy
Splatter Generation features songs that have horroresque titles. Some of these include Cemetery Man, Dead Girls are Easy, The New York Ripper and 7 Doors of Death. Overall, Murderock has a very tight and heavy sound. Each song has its own flavor (rock, punk, etc) which in itself brings a special unique atmosphere to Splatter Generation. Freddie’s vocals on top of hard hitting drums and guitar will leave you wanting more and more….and then more after that. 
This horror album makes great use of sound effects such as chainsaws and ticking clocks to bring their message to light.  It’s a fun tribute to the horror genre.  I could see various horror movies in my mind as I was listening to Splatter Generation. 
I recommend this album to anyone who enjoys hard and heavy rock and metal, but also the horror movie genre.

Wednesday, April 20, 2016

Artist Spotlight (April 20th, 2016) ALICIA ERIS

This week's Spotlight Artist:

Alicia Eris!

In the beginning of 2013, Alicia Eris began writing and planning her first solo music project titled "Retrospective '12," with fellow Class Faction member, producer/co-writer Dane Diamond. According to Alicia, "My new sound is a cross between the bluesy sounds of Amy Winehouse and the alternative-soul sounding group The Internet." The EP will be released in the summer of 2013.


As swiped from her bandcamp page:

In the beginning of 2013, Alicia Eris began writing and planning her first solo music project titled "Retrospective '12," with... fellow Class Faction member, producer/co-writer Dane Diamond. According to Alicia, "My new sound is a cross between the bluesy sounds of Amy Winehouse and the alternative-soul sounding group The Internet." The EP will be released in the summer of 2013.        

An amazing artist.  You should definitely check out her music.  Go. Now!          

Wednesday, April 13, 2016

Artist Spotlight (April 13th, 2016) SCIENCE AND THE BEAT

Lovingly chosen as this week's spotlight artist:

Science and the Beat
https://www.facebook.com/scienceandthebeat


Graciously ripped from their Facebook page:

Multi-instrumentalists Tasha Katrine and Rob Zilla have been carving out their creative vision since being introduced in their teens. The approach has been dexterous, mixing live shows with elaborate video and lighting installations – most notably as More Machine Than Man. As a fixture in the Goth Industrial scene, the pair was conscious of the expectations and rigid identity that develops with a long-term project. To keep those limitations from becoming self-imposed, the mission became letting creativity have free reign. Future Blue, then, sounds like actualization: two people growing into their cynicism and finding it to be just as potent as their youthful yearnings. Produced by Wade Alin (Christ Analogue, The Atomica Project) Future Blue pulsates with clean, taut synths that create something like a strop for the sharp and decisive use of guitar. For the subject matter, it is fitting that the title be just as evocative: blue as tranquil, hopeful and expansive? Or the hue we use to illustrate our woes?

 - Monet Harris


If you've never heard Science and the Beat, you really don't know what you are missing!

CD Review - Mouce "Black Tiger"


Mouce - Black Tiger (As reviewed on April 13th, 2016)

Artist Bio:

Mouce was founded in 1984.  Their members are Mouce, and Low-G.  They reside in Seminole County, Florida. 

Taken from their Facebook page:

I introduce you to Mouce aka Mouce Trap.

This Orlando native began selling homemade cds and tapes made on a karaoke machin
...e in high school. Shortly after, Mouce started his own record company Low-G Records.

"I've always held myself to a higher standard and never made excuses< " says Mouce.

Recently, he collaborated with DJ Burn One on (2) mixtapes entitled: "Til Da World Blow Up" and "Nikola Tesla."

Digital release for Mouce's latest mixtape, SLIDES and VIBES Coming Soon!! * Stay Tuned *

CD Review:

https://www.facebook.com/Mouce-195762787105517/timeline
Black Tiger

My favorite songs on the album were  "Know Me Like Dat" and "Money Come Round"

This album is quite the interesting piece.  The beats and melodies used behind the raps themselves only add to the atmosphere of this album.  Overall, the messages I got from the songs on Black Tiger is about being real, being yourself and not letting others get you down.  I don’t usually go out of my way to listen to rap/hip hop, but there were times during the time spent listening to this recording that I found myself tapping my foot and dancing in my chair. It had a really awesome groove.  I do recommend this mixtape, as they called it, to anyone who enjoys rap.  I’m sure you’ll enjoy it.
I could feel the intent behind the words and the beats and although I am not fond of rap/hip hop as a general rule, I definitely enjoy what I consider to be the good stuff, and Black Tiger by Mouce IS the good stuff!
 



Monday, April 11, 2016

Artist Spotlight April 6th, 2016) WE PREDICT A RIOT

You never know who is going to show up during the artist spotlight!  This week it is:

We Predict a Riot! 

https://www.facebook.com/wepredictariot/


Lovingly stolen from their Facebook page:

Originating from Carson City, Nevada in 2012, We Predict a Riot has created a name for themselves in Northern Nevada, and su...rrounding areas. With engaging melodic lyrics and heavy break-downs, their music is enjoyed by a variety of different music fans. It’s hard to not get into their songs, simply because the lyrics are from the heart, along with the catchy sound of the band. WPAR's influences are: Asking Alexandria, We Came as Romans, As I Lay Dying, and I The Breather, to name a few.

The dynamics of We Predict a Riot are not something that you can fake, they are a group of best friends that has created a bond that is unbreakable. This band is focused, and they aren't stopping until they reach the top!

These 6 guys from Carson City, NV have ambitions that surpass the stars, and no one will stand in their way. The expectations that everyone has for this band will always be exceeded.
From a band that was started by a few friends, in a town that most people haven't ever heard of, has blossomed into something greater than the sum of its parts. WPAR creates music that makes its listeners compelled to participate in, and that fans can relate to. They have taken the area by storm. We Predict a Riot has accomplished so much by hard work and dedication and have so much more to give.

Definitely give these guys a listen and a like on their page!