Sunday, October 16, 2016

CD Review - Mist of Misery- "Absence"

Mist of Misery – Absence

Favorite songs: Melancholic Thoughts, Epitaph of Penitence

* Mortuz-Denatus - Vocals, Lyrics, Drums (studio), Programming, Mixing & Mastering
* Phlegathon - Guitars, Bass, Lyrics
* Livsnekaren - Drums (Live)

 CD Review:

This band from Stockholm, Sweden describe their music as Symphonic Metal/Despressive Metal/and Black Metal.  And, rightly so.  All of the above describe the massive sound that is Mist of Misery. 

This album begins with an aptly titled track called Melancholic Thoughts… Flowing deeper into the psyche with relaxing strings and beautifully calming melodies…..right into the second track, Euthanasia.  And then WHAM! The most glorious symphonic metal hits the ears like a tidal wave.   

When it comes to Black Metal, Absence is not what I usually expect.  The brooding nature of the majority of the music is so calming that I tend to forget that I am actually listening to Black Metal.  The emotions that this music stirs inside me are some that I rarely feel.  People who know me know that I do not usually go out of my way for music such as Mist of Misery, however, I will state that this band, this album has given me an opportunity to change my outlook on Black Symphonic Depressive metal.   

I would recommend this album to anyone who enjoys metal, rock, those raspy cookie monster vocals I constantly talk about or anyone who enjoys songs that inspire and encourage great feeling.  So, basically, I would recommend “Absence” to everyone.  You won’t be sorry.

Friday, September 23, 2016

CD Review - Interstelar - "Resin"

Interstelar - "Resin" as reviewed on September 14th, 2016.

As far as the band's bio is concerned, I humbly refer you to their Facebook Page found here.

The Review: 

Favorite songs: High Horse, Opposite Daze

The guys of Interstelar refer to their music as "shoegazy", "doomy", "sludgey" and other various adjectives.  I describe their music as hard rock with gentler tendencies.  This album is a collection of nearly every emotion that one could put into rock music without losing their status as awesome.  "Resin" is a continuous groove of excellence that I haven't heard in a while.  The syncopated rhythms in the melody in Opposite Daze, gives "Resin" a particularly unique quality to its overall sound. 

In a world where today's hard rock sounds like it was created by cookie cutter corporate heels that only appeal to the sheep who will listen, Interstelar is breaking that mold to do something better than the norm.  I expect great things from this band who has already proven that they can compete with those who have been around for a while.

If you haven't done so, go and grab this album, right now.  Sit in a quiet room and absorb the energy that is "Resin" 

On Erosion Factory I gave this album 4.5 out of 5 stars.  I should be shot.  5 stars!

CD Review - LoboLoto "Even the Stones Fall"

It is with great pleasure that I present to you my CD review of "Even the Stones Fall" by LoboLoto.

Band bio: 
 Where is the band from?
LoboLoto is from Ferrara, a city near Bologna (Italy).

Who are the band members?
I'm the only band member. My name is Alice Lobo and I composed and wrote (music and lyrics) every single track of LoboLoto.  For live gigs, I'm accompanied by other two musicians whose names are Matteo mangherini (guitars) and Edoardo Cavallari (drums).

How long has the band been together?
From June, 2016.

Did any members of the band work in other musical projects before this?
Yes. Matteo has a duo called 'Duo Orchestra' and Edoardo a duo called "Endless Mind' (The are both amazing!)
As for me, I played in a lot of music projects, but the most important that brought me to my sound was the last, named "The Maimers'. It was an electronic duo from me at Lyrics and melody and Alberto Nemo, who wrote the music.
One of the songs that we wrote together, 'Can You Save me?" (I was particularly close ot that) is included in the new album 'Even the Stones Fall'.

Where was the album made?
The album 'Even the Stones Fall' was made in my home studio. Then, to record the guitars, the mixing ad the master, I leaned againt the Animal house Studio of Federico Viola.  In some songs, like ' Farewell', 'Please Me', 'Can You Save Me?' and 'Se-Me' the guitars were played by Mattia Cenacchi e Matteo Maragno.  You can listen to the drums of Italo Graziana in the song "Please Me' and to the piano of Friedrich Cane in 'Farewell' and 'Anna'.

Who produced the album?
The album was entirely written and composed by me.

Who does the songwriting?
I do the songwriting except for 'Anna', that's a cover song of Lucio Battisti, and Italian musician of the '60s-'70s and for 'Tacheles', wrote together with Artan Rroku.

Who are your musical influences?
It's really difficult for me to answer because I think that music is born from the experiences and emotions of who produce it, which are later mixed with those of the listener, but I don't believe that the music of some artist can influence the writing and composing of another's.  However, I don't listen to much music, and I think that the one that listen is completely different by mine, like Jeff Buckley, Nick Drake, David Bowie, Antony and the Johnsons, Pink Floyd, Brian Eno...I also listen to a lot of classical music, like Franz Liszt, Frederich Chopin, Johann Sebastian Bach, Sergei Rachmaninoff and many others.

What was the message or goal of this album?
I think that music is the most important thing. I think that is the origin of all things. In the recent years, the man has turned away from listening to the music, thus losing the sense of humanity, empathy, that serves to give a meaning to life and to everything that we do. My goal is, in my small way, to rekindle the hidden emotions, those of which we no longer speak, that lie to the sense of shame and fear, leading to the historical period we are living...

Do you plan on touring to promote this album?
In Italy is increasingly difficult ot find events and pubs or clubs that are available to 'risk' with emerging artists, but never give up is one of my mottos, and I hope this could be the beginning of a lot of gigs to promote my album 'Even the Stones Fall'.

What are your goals for the future?
A lot of live gigs and...A second album.

Where can people buy your music?
Here you ca find my music or put a 'like' to my socials:

The Review: 

  Sultry, sexy voice of Alice Lobo.  This fabulous artist is from Ferrera, Italy.  She describes her music mostly as experimental, but I consider it a little bit of most genres, but mostly darkwave.  There are beautiful melodies of piano and other synths that create some of the most eerie and beautifully tailored atmospheres that I have heard in a while.  This is an album worthy of any music collector.  Oh, and I hope that you have brushed up on your Italian before listening to the song Anna.  "Even the Stones Fall" is a reviving breath of fresh air that will enlighten the soul and give the listener reason to ponder. 
This album has it all!

This is definitely an album that is best listened to in a dark room or while pondering the meaning of life.  It is the perfect blend of darkness and light......

Wednesday, August 17, 2016

Artist Spotlight (August 10th, 2016) - FREELITE

Chosen with care, this week's Artist Spotlight:


Seriously, though. Not much is known about this amazing rock band from Belarus.  You'll just have to check them out for yourselves. Click on their picture to go to their Facebook page!

Wednesday, August 3, 2016

Artist Spotlight (August, 3rd, 2016) CHAOS DELIVERY MACHINE

Proudly bringing you this week's Spotlight Artist: 

Chaos Delivery Machine

This Hermosa Beach, CA based trio has released an album that has taken an exhausting and life-threatening journey of over 8 years to complete. Created by former 98 Mute band mates Jason Page (guitarist/music) and Justin Thirsk (throat/drummer/ words), whose older brother, Jason Thirsk (R.I.P.), was the founding member and former lyricist/bassist of Pennywise. The lineup is rounded out by Pennywise co-founder and guitarist Fletcher Dragge (co-throat/bass/producer.)

If you love punk rock, you're going to love Chaos Delivery Machine. They are amazing!

CD Review - (August 3rd, 2016) Blue Helix - A Tale of Two Halves

Blue Helix

Blue Helix is a musical quartet on the cutting edge of modern rock with a uniquely potent blend of the core genre and its many sub-genres. Following in the hallowed footsteps of instrumental pioneers from Threshold to Led Zeppelin, their energy derives from the steel-on-steel sparks where rock fights itself for raw dominance - technique locked tooth-in-claw with a fierce need to be apart from the establishment, partly for its own sake and partly to stay just as righteous as it always wanted to be. Yet in the fight to stand out, there is also a struggle to learn and to be understood. In the indomitable spirit of strength that embodies rock, Washington's Blue Helix stand against the darkness and for something much greater. Thriving on the energies and individual personalities of each member, Blue Helix reigns as a tribute both to its members's lives and to their vision. 

CD Review: 

Favorites Songs: Escape, Bullets

A Tale of two Halves is exactly what hard rock should sound like.  Don’t get me wrong, this album has plenty of tender moments that may bring a tear to a cold heart’s eye. 

Lyrics on A Tale of Two Hearts are thought-provoking, passionate and beautifully written.  There seems to be an ongoing theme of unreciprocated love.  I think we’ve all been there at one point or another.  These songs are sung with so much heartfelt emotion that it is difficult not to give this album one’s full attention…many times….
Each track brings its own individual tone an quality that brings the album together full circle. If you have not had the chance to listen to this album yet, visit their Soundcloud page, or better yet, buy their album wherever it is sold, such as iTunes, CDbaby or Reverbnation. You won't be sorry you did.

Monday, July 25, 2016


Ordinarily, I save my CD reviews for Erosion Factory Radio Show, however, due to the two week hiatus I decided that it would be a wonderful idea to do a CD review for my other show A Walk on the Dark Side.  So here it is in all its glory:

The Sweetest Condition:

(As lovingly borrowed from their Facebook Page):
THE SWEETEST CONDITION is an industrial + synthpop + darkwave band, featuring Jason Reed Milner (music + synths) and Leslie ...I. Benson (lyrics + vocals), which blends iconic sounds of the ’80s, industrial muscle of the ’90s, and cinematic soundscapes. The band derives inspiration from Depeche Mode, Nine Inch Nails, The Birthday Massacre and others.

After releasing their five-song EP, “Truth & Light,” in April 2013, the female-fronted duo moved from Indianapolis, Ind., to Nashville, Tenn., where they teamed up with producer and sound engineer Joel Lauver of Burning Bridge Recordings to produce their debut full-length album, “Edge of the World,” which was released on Aug. 28, 2015. A second album, currently in the works, is set for release in 2016.

- New Album: For Release in 2016!
- "Edge of the World" Debut Album: Released on Aug. 28, 2015.
- "Truth & Light" EP: Released April 30, 2013.

Favorite songs: Miles Away, Now, Control

After having discovered this album several months ago, it is one that I have not got a week without playing in its entirety at least three times a week.  It's dark, it's edgy, it's got a darker pop vibe that cannot be ignored.  And, with influences such as Depeche Mode, Nine Inch Nails, Portishead and The Cure among others, it is hard to deny the excellence that is Edge of the World

Leslie brings a passion to the songs with a voice that is as sultry as it is commanding. Topics of every song on the album are easily identifiable with experiences in my own personal life.  Especially Miles Away.  I think we've all known someone like that.

Let's not forget Jason's incredible way of bringing the music to life with his use of synths.  Together they bring a blend of imaginative songs that are simply outstanding.

Edge of the World brings a mountain of danceable songs that will kill on any dance floor.  Who can resist the upbeat rhythms, stompy basslines or melodies that take you away to another world? Not this girl!  It's an amazing collection of songs that are gripping from beginning to end.

In short, Edge of the World is worthy of any goth/synthpop/industrial collection.  Check them out on Facebook by clicking on their picture above!

Saturday, July 9, 2016

Spotlight Artist (July 6th, 2016) MOUCE

After pondering for a span of minutes, I bring you Erosion Factory's featured artist:


Stealthily borrowed from their Facebook page:

There are those among us who grind to make their dreams of being an artist a reality. With that being said,, I introduce you to one of those people - Mouce aka Mouce Trap.

This Orlando native began selling homemade cds and tapes made on a karaoke machine in high school. Shortly after, Mouce started his own record company Low-G Records.

To see my review of their CD "Black Tiger" click here.

Thursday, June 30, 2016

CD Review - Oira 317 - "Torment of Wingless Angel"

"Torment of Wingless Angel" by Oira 317 as reviewed on June 15th, 2016.

Artist Bio:

Where is the band from?
-The band is from very south of Poland, evey member of our group 317utc is from here (we are little 'secret society', so we prefer to not show our real names and city yet), people who helped me develop Oira 317 or Zrodzony - Matsumarii, V.
Who are the band members?
-Currently the band members are Oira Threeoneseven (at the beginning known as Michail Janovich) - me, and V. who works with me on production and samples. 
How long has the band been together?
-The band exists since march of 2014, after Zrodzony's pause in activity. And of course exist now too. 
Did any members of the band work in other musical projects before this?
-I worked in Zrodzony before i started Oira 317. 
Are any of the members of the band currently in any side projects?
-Yes, I am working again in Zrodzony, and both with V. we are part of The Red Union project.
Where was the album made?
-Album was made in our 'little home studio' - so we can just say that our music is homemade.
Who produced the album?
-Album was produced by me (Oira) and V. But also - all the people who helped us sound better - we asked our friends about quite lot of things, for example - volume of vocals. I want to say 'thank you' to them all. 
Who does the songwriting?
-All songs are written by Oira 317.
Who are your musical influences?
-Musical influences are mainly Blam Honey, 2Bullet, Skinny Puppy, Gackt, Schwarz Stein, last time I feel I am a lot inspired by Stillborn Diz. But also we have been inspired by Stabbing Westward, Black Tower and Moderl Talking! 
What was the message or goal of this album?
-We wanted so make a physical album with best (IMO) songs from our albums from past - it was sealing of past and beginning od new era of project (I hope). It contains also unreleased yet songs! At most songs are very symbolical - politics + emotions + philosophy in a Fairy Tale convention.
Do you plan on touring to promote this album?
-We never played live yet and probably in close future we will not.
What are your goals for the future?
-We want to get more fans and people who will show us love, also as part of Elektro Villain group we want to promote this label/compilations and promote great artists connected to it. We want to develope and bring to people some good music and souvenirs. Make new friends and - in future - start to play live.
Where can people buy your music?
People can find our music (digital and physical in very attractive price) on our bandcamp:  - or contact us directly on facebook or on

CD Review:

Favorite songs: Delusional Fermentality, Beloved Mother
When it comes to industrial music, most people think of Germany.  However, that is not always the case as Oira317 proves.  Hailing from Poland, this amazing artist breaks the stereotype and brings us Torment of Wingless Angel.  But, if you're looking for a soft, delicate flower go find a rose garden.
This albums features all that one would expect from a heavy hitting industrial piece.  Eerie synths melodies, low growly vocals and heavy, distorted drumlines, which in themselves gives this album its own unique flavor. Like those found in Beloved Mother and Delusional Fermentality. Perfect blends of everything that is great about industrial music. Great feeling can be heard in Wingless Angel.  It's one of the tracks that I play repeatedly throughout the day. 
I enjoyed Torment of Wingless Angel very much and keep Oira 317 in a constant rotation on SoundCloud.  I definitely recommend this album to anyone who enjoys the likes of Skinny Puppy, Combichrist etc... 

Wednesday, June 29, 2016

Spotlight Artist (June 29th, 2016) ZEN ROBBI

Chosen with a loving heart, I give you this week's Spotlight Artist:

Zen Robbi

From Los Angeles, CA emerges the nastiest power trio rock and roll has seen since the dawn of the millennium. For nearly 8 years now, the titanic trio have been terrorizing audiences across America with their rambunctious funk and ridiculous good looks. Led by the notorious pirate Captain Mic Dangerously, Scott Wittenberg and Timmy "Too Tall" Baker are the back bone to a beast of a band that is on the road to musical superstardom. Fusing rock, soul, swing, jazz and funk these boys can play, and they mean business.

From Los Angeles, CA emerges the nastiest power trio rock and roll has seen sin...ce the dawn of the millennium. For nearly 8 years now, the titanic trio have been terrorizing audiences across America with their rambunctious funk and ridiculous good looks. Led by the notorious pirate Captain Mic Dangerously, Scott Wittenberg and Timmy "Too Tall" Baker are the back bone to a beast of a band that is on the road to musical superstardom. Fusing rock, soul, swing, jazz and funk these boys can play, and they mean business.

Go ahead and give them a like an a listen.  Next time they play, be sure to go out and support their show!